10/06/2017 (Day 363: New Retro Wave Renaissance)

I mentioned quite some time ago in a blog that I really liked listening to New Retro Wave music and that I used to listen to it quite a lot. However, in the past few months ever since I found Monstercat towards the end of 2016, New Retro Wave has been pushed to one side for me because of the high quality releases Monstercat would publish every week. I normally don’t do this with my music tastes and find a middle ground, so that I can enjoy both broadly different styles at the same time, but for some reason I kind of faded away from New Retro Wave music, even though without it I would not have eventually discovered Monstercat.

I found New Retro Wave music during my time studying for my degree in Film Music and someone put on some music for a New Retro Wave artist called Power Glove, which at the time I had never heard of. At this point, I had shifted solely onto video game soundtracks, film soundtracks and general classical music, but the song by Power Glove struck a chord with me and decided to check out the album the song was from. To my shock and surprise, I ended up listening to the entire album and eventually buying the album even though I had not consumed the media the album was associated with.

However, in the past week for some unknown reason, I decided to have a New Retro Wave Renaissance because I checked out some of the music from the genre that I liked a couple of years ago and I wondered why I ever stopped listening to the genre. The New Retro Wave genre is vast and has a lot of unique songs that instantly resonate well with me because of how unique they are and the fact that they are not heard in the mainstream charts whatsoever. For example, one of the artists in this genre called Mega Drive, I have been quite the fan of since my introduction to the genre, I ended up actually today checking out some of the other releases from this artist. These new tracks are simply stunning because they are very 80’s sounding with the dark deep synth sounds, but are made in modern ways.

Overall, I am glad that I am back listening to New Retro Wave music because it was a mistake by me to ever stop listening to the genre. I know Monstercat music is also awesome, but it is New Retro Wave that is more under the radar and also much more unique in terms of style and musical composition.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

