12/05/2017 (Day 334: Star Fox 2 Any% Normal: I Am Done)

Today I decided to stream for a few hours because I had quite a bit of free time today and  was in the mood to try and improve some of my times. I had reflected on what I wrote yesterday because I have realised that my recent shifts in my mentality towards my speedrunning and streaming that has been changing quite significantly for the better and the amount of times I have been resetting has been much lower. I have also been trying to work on my presentation of the stream because I know that the audio quality of my microphone for example, was not great but I worked on it and I improved it. I think that analysing what I have mentioned about my stream and improving it has allowed me to make some progress and today’s stream was the biggest step I have made towards my goals and even achieved a goal today that I never thought I would achieve.

I started out the stream today with some Lester The Unlikely because I have had a positive shift in momentum in the game and everything I have been practicing has been paying off a lot. The first run I did I was not happy with but it ended up being a small personal best, however the run after that I got quite a sizeable personal best and I managed to get a sub 18:30. There were mistakes in my new personal best that if I hadn’t of made would have put me into the top 3 times in the game. Lester The Unlikely was a speedgame that I had a love and hate relationship with, but since I derusted the game, I have really enjoy how much I have been improving and the fact that I have improved my time 5 times in less than 4 weeks is a sign that things can only go up from here with the game. I know that I can reach the upper echelons of runners if I keep pushing myself and learn where I can save even more time, which hitting the top 3 would mean I would be one of the stronger runners of the game.

The second half of the stream I decided that I wanted to work on Star Fox 2 because I have been playing really well in the game recently. Safe to say I achieved something that I did not expect to happen, which meant that I can officially say that I am finished with the Any% Normal category. I had a couple of runs that initially came very close to beating my WR, but the final run of the day I did ended up being the one that I had been thinking was a pipe dream for nearly 2 years. I got a 10:28.7, which beat my goal of sub 10:30 and the moment I got it is one that I will never forget. I felt like that I was a speedrunner that had achieved something that might not ever get beaten or beaten for a very long time. I am really proud of this achievement, but without the Piper Pack, my Twitch community I don’t think I would have been able to do this.

Overall, thank you to everyone who has been watching the stream and supporting me for nearly 2 years of streaming. The Star Fox 2 Any% Normal achievement is for anyone who has lurked or watched my stream because you are the pillars of my stream.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

