28/04/2017 (Day 320: 5 Personal Bests in 9 Days)

Yesterday was my rescheduled stream day because I had some things that I needed to take off and boy was I glad that I swapped the days. Normally, I am the sort of person that would cancel the stream and wait until the next normal stream day, but I had a good feeling about last night’s stream. The stream as well was the first time that I decided to try out speedrunning multiple games in the same stream because what I like to do is focus on one speedrun for the entire stream. However, I have had problems with runs not going my way and then cutting the stream short, which with this new setup for streams means that I can swap out if I feel things are not going to plan, but continue with a game if all is going well.

Last night, the games I did some speedruns of were Star Fox 2 and Kirby’s Dream Land mainly because I had got personal bests in both of those games recently and I wanted to see if I could continue the momentum and get even better times. Star Fox 2 was ok and I did get a couple of chances of getting a new world record, but like the Any% normal category has been for me lately, luck decided not to favour me. I will need to get used to runs not being successful to bad luck because without the luck going my way, I have no chance of improving the world record in Any% normal.

Kirby’s Dream Land ended up being quite a strange one because for 3 runs in a row, I lost the run on the final boss and I was not very happy about it. I thought to myself that I would give the game one more try because the previous runs had shown that I had some potential. I am so glad that I did because I managed to get a 2 minute personal best, which in a game as short as Kirby’s Dream Land is quite the achievement. I was tempted to do another run after that, but then I decided that I was not going to push my luck because the luck in my personal best run was really good.

Overall, the personal best on yesterday’s stream means that I have got 5 personal bests in 9 days, which in speedrunning for me is substantial and borderline crazy. I hope that this luck continues because it is making me feel so positive about speedrunning and also honing my skills at a time where they are improving.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

