07/04/2017 (Day 299: I Sprained My Wrist And How It Affects This Weekend)

Yesterday, whilst I was organising my gaming collection, which is stored in my cupboard and I was adding games that I picked up recently, I fell out of my cupboard and fell onto my right wrist. Initially, it was absolutely fine and I didn’t really feel anything different in my wrist until late last night where I felt some swelling in the wrist I fell on and I found out that I had sprained my right wrist. I have sprained my wrist previously and I knew that once the pain had set in, that it might be sprained because of the way that I fell on it. This could not have happened at a worse time because I was planning to do some Sonic 1 practice today, but I am decided to hold back as I don’t want to aggravate the injury further. The last thing that I want to do is push the injury hard and maybe cause me to cancel tomorrow’s stream, which is something that I do not want to do. It is safe to say that Sonic 1 practice will be shifted to the start of next week because there is a lot of inputs in the speedrun.

Depending on how much the injury hurts tomorrow, I might have to do a shorter Star Fox 2 stream because it will definitely affect how well I can play. I am not planning to do a casual stream to replace the speedrunning because I do not want to lose any momentum with Star Fox 2 as I need to work as hard as I can to prepare for AGDQ 2018 submissions. Even though this is not for quite a few months, I still need to work hard to improve my times and maybe find some more optimisations to make the categories more optimised. I also need to challenge Oyster who has recently improved the any% Hard world record because I want to continue to try and push the time as low as I possibly can. I think that if I don’t improve any of my times on tomorrow’s stream then I won’t be disappointed because I have never done a speedrun with a hand injury, definitely not with a sprained wrist.

Overall, I am sad that I have sprained my wrist because it has affected my ability to practice both Sonic and Star Fox 2 and I am still not sure whether to rest it or still try and stream tomorrow. Part of me wants to rest it, but part of me wants to rest it so that I can be 100% for next stream. I think I will decide tomorrow once I know how my wrist feels.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

