20/03/2017 (Day 281: Star Fox 2 WR Lost)

 

When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I always check is my email just in case I have missed anything important overnight and mostly there is nothing that comes to my attention. This morning was a different story and in a way a very important story. I saw that two people on the Star Fox 2 leaderboards had improved their times and one of those times was a new runner who beat my Any% Hard world record. This came as quite a surprise and because I moderate these leaderboards I obviously check every single run posted to make sure that there was no cheating involved. This runner had not cheated at all, but more analysed my best time and learned the new strategies that I recently discovered, which for me helps to set a benchmark for what is possible.

I will be honest with you, I was quite disappointed to see my record beaten, but there is also a sense of pride reflecting upon it. The disappointment was from the fact that someone was quicker than me, however the runner runs the game on console, whilst the rest of the community use emulation. The interesting thing though is that console didn’t look much quicker if at all compared to emulator, which kind of surprised me. The pride comes from the fact that the time and effort I put into breaking the category actually paid off for others. I could easily sulk and never speedrun Star Fox 2 again, but if anything it is the encouragement I need to try and push the time even lower. After looking up the runner, he has not speedrun anything else but this game, but I think that doesn’t matter because I believe in myself that I can get that record back even if console might be quicker. What I will be doing is trying to beat that time because I know I can go even quicker and that will turning the disappointment into determination, as I know I can do it.

Overall, I am disappointed that I lost the record, but I intend on getting it back because I know I can do it. It will also prove that I can bounce back from losing a record and regaining it because it is something I have never had to do before.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

