18/03/2017 (Day 279: Important Changes To The Blog And Pickup Videos Update)

I would like to make quite an important announcement regarding a feature that I introduced into Friday blogs, the Review Preview where I would preview the game I was reviewing the Saturday. I thought I would trial this feature for 3 weeks to see what the response to the feature would be because I am the sort of person that gives an idea 3 chances to see how much it works. In this case, after I posted yesterday’s blog where I previewed today’s review, Alex Kidd In The Enchanted Castle, I asked my community about what they thought about the feature after 3 weeks and it seems that the feature has sadly not worked because the community felt that previewing the game so close to the review did not work. I think the issue was I was doing the Review Preview too close to the review release date and it some cases it was not necessary as it would only be 24 hours before the review was published. I am glad that I have received this feedback because I felt that some weeks I was going to struggle to give my background to the game as I might have found some of the games recently, meaning that the blog for that Friday would have been somewhat boring. So what I am going to do, is to scrap this idea because at the end of the day I was trying it to see if I could increase the attention on the game reviews and maybe interest some readers who read only the blog to check out the reviews. The main reason is because the amount of interest in the Review Previews is extremely low and at the end of the day, those Fridays could make for interesting blogs rather than Review Previews that are unnecessary.

However, the trend I am starting to notice is that the popularity of the reviews has been on the rise, even for some games that I was not expecting many people to read. On reflection, I feel that I do not need to raise the profile of my reviews because on some occasions, the daily blogs are being outperformed by the reviews, which I personally don’t mind. I don’t mind this because I know that some of the games I review are well known games in both speedrunning circles, as well as the circles of nostalgia. The fact that so many people lately have shown an interest in the reviews makes me happy because when I started the reviews, I was nervous that the much longer form content would detract interest away from the daily blog, but both have been growing nicely.

On a different topic, some of you might have noticed that I have not posted a video game pickups video yet this month and there are a couple of reasons for that. Lately, I have been quite ill and I have not felt 100% for about a month and a half because of sore throats, chest infections and stomach bugs. It has been quite rough to fight through because when I am ill, any strength that I have gets sapped and by the time I have wanted to record the pickups video, my voice would have become awful. The other reason is that I have a lot of things going on in my personal life that I don’t write about because there are some things that have been happening that I would rather keep private. So, an amalgamation of these two things have meant that I have had neither the time or the energy to record the pickups video and there are 2 options that I have. I could either record next weekend to get the video done or I could merge with the pickups that I find in April because I have reduced my thrifting to once a month. The reason for the reduction is that I kept running into the same things that I had already seen prior in the month and reducing it down to once a month will also allow me to play the games that I find rather than buying and not playing.

Overall, I want to thank you all for the feedback regarding the Review Previews because I know it was a feature that I was trying and I am not sad that it is didn’t work out. At the end of the day, this blog is about me and I want to make sure that any features I introduce interest you and if they don’t, then I want to remove them before they make the blog boring. Also, I am hoping to record the video game pickups video soon, so that I can maintain the monthly release schedule for this videos.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

