10/03/2017 (Day 271: Review Preview: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped)

This week’s review is of the Playstation game Crash Bandicoot 3 Warped, which is a 3D platformer released in 1998. My experiences with this game go all the way back to when I was a young child and my parents first purchased a Playstation. I can’t remember what games we got with the console, but I remember 4 games that stood out to me from the initial games we got was Tomb Raider, Rayman (which I have reviewed previously) South Park (which is coming up in the near future) and Crash Bandicoot 3. At the time, having 2 home consoles in my house was quite common because at the time we had a SNES and a Genesis before getting the Playstation. I am not sure what it was that made my parents buy the console, but I am really glad that they did because it exposed me to a console that would stick with me throughout my gaming life and I have always had original Playstation games. Lately, these memories have inspired me to start collecting games for the system because there are quite a few games that have caught my eye from the system that I have found when I go thrifting.

My first memories of Crash Bandicoot 3 was back in 1999 and I don’t remember much about level names, but I have vivid memories about how each level looked and how much these levels stood out to me. I think another thing I remember about the game was how easy the opening of the game was, but also how there were certain sections of the game I found to be quite challenging. This balance of levels that were easier and some levels that were harder allowed me to really enjoy the game and get a good feel for the game. I think that this approach to designing the levels meant that I could understand the easier stages, but also meant that there were quite challenging levels, but the easier levels meant I could stockpile lives for these stages.

I played the game again quite recently in preparation for the review and the game has aged remarkably well and the graphics still look fantastic. I have recommended to some of my younger siblings and they really enjoy the gameplay and also Crash Bandicoot, the character himself. The fact that some players who experience the game for the first time and still enjoy it similarly to how I first experienced the game gives the impression that the game is priceless. I will leave it there because I don’t want to ruin too much about the game because I spoiled a bit of last week’s review and it affected viewer numbers a bit.

Overall, I am really looking forward to sharing this review because this is a game that I know extremely well and have experiences of the game spanning almost 20 years. I definitely think that you will all enjoy the review because it is a review of one of the most popular Playstation games to get released.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

