25/02/2017 (Day 258: Feeling Really Unwell And Weekend Progress)

For the past couple of days, I have been feeling mildly unwell where I thought maybe I had a minor cold and was a 48 hour bug type illness. Well, when I woke up this morning, I realised that it was in fact something much worse because I had literally lost 90% of the strength of my voice, which for someone who likes a good chat was not a good thing. Then I started coughing and it was so rough on my throat to the point that whenever I tried to have a drink to keep myself hydrated, it felt like I was swallowing a bunch of oversharpened needles and it was hurting so much. This really got me down because it is quite rare that I become as ill as I have because yes I am weak to certain 24 hour stomach bugs, but something as nasty as this is not common at all.

However, I tried a remedy that my family always try to clear some of the chest mucus and also try and clear my throat somewhat and that is have a hot lemon made much stronger than normal cordials. As soon as I had the first sip of it, I immediately disliked it, but I decided that I had to drink this because I would prefer not to be ill for too long as it has a tendency to make me feel weak and useless. However, to my amazement and surprise it has actually ended up working quite nicely, even though I am not 100% over the chesty cough and sore throat. Compared to this morning, I am feeling somewhat better, although I do feel tired because I was only able to get about 4 hours of sleep because every time I tried to settle down to sleep, the chesty cough would start again and every time it would happen, I would not be able to try settling down to sleep again for about 10-15 minutes. Hopefully I am over the worst of it because if I wake up tomorrow and it is even worse, I will not know what to do.

On a much more positive note, I have been able to muster up the strength to continue working on a couple of the things that I had planned to do before I got sick. I was finally able after it got delayed last week to finish the On The Ball review, which I published a couple of weeks ago. I am not sure why writing this review caused me so many issues, but normally when I am writing a review or the blogs, ideas flow quite naturally and I know what I want to write about. I pretty much have an outline for what things I would like to cover in the blog or need to cover in the review, but On The Ball was not like this because it was difficult to write it in a flowing way. I would write a bit of it, take a break and then come back to it and write a little bit more. Normally, I can write a review in a maximum of 3 sessions, depending on what other projects and what my general schedule is, but On The Ball took a lot more than that. Hopefully with the next few reviews, which I am hoping to write a lot more effectively will not have this brick walls that I had to keep clambering over.

Overall, being sick is something I really don’t like, but at least now I am on the way to feeling better even if I am a good distance away from fully feeling (nice alliteration there Liam) like myself again. Also, sickness does not mean I have to drop everything and basically make me bedridden and I am filled with determination like Undertale (A reference to Day 2 of the blog) to continue working on projects to the best of my ability.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

