01/02/2017 (Day 234: Researching New Games)

I spent this evening looking through lists and lists of different games so that I can increase the amount of knowledge I have of the libraries of consoles that I have or will be reviewing games for. However, the way that I pick my games is rather interesting because I don’t just select games from the list myself because the problem my lack of knowledge of the console library means that it will be difficult to make judgements. I also only do these for retro consoles such as the SNES, Mega Drive/Genesis and NES etc because consoles like the Playstation 1 and 2 I will be selecting games from my personal collection that I find thrifting and then play the games from there. I don’t select the Playstation games at random because I have a lot more knowledge of the consoles’ libraries and also what games to play and what games to avoid. For example, I make sure to not review any games that are considered shovelware because it will not make for good reviews and I would not enjoy playing the games in the first place.

The way I select my reviews for the more retro systems is by scrolling through the list of games for the console, both Western and Japanese exclusives because some of the Japanese exclusives now have English translations. The main reason why I do it this way is because it makes the choosing of the games more exciting due to the fact that I don’t know what games will be chosen. I will still skip some games that I have heard are notoriously bad or games in genres that I have no interest in like card or slot games, which the SNES has quite a few of. I think I will be doing this because it will allow me to try out a huge bunch of different games for different consoles, which is important as I do not want my reviews to end up becoming stale.

Overall, I quite like the idea for finding games for review because it will mean that all games, popular or obscure will get the chance to be reviewed.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

