11/01/2017 (Day 213: Preparing For The Snow)

After I finished work today, I decided to have a look at the weather forecast because I have been keeping an eye on it due to the potentially adverse weather conditions that could be on the way for my part of the world. I found out that tomorrow on the way home from work, it is meant to snow quite a bit. This is both worrying and exciting because the snow is meant to hit during the rush hour, literally just as I finish work and whenever I am travelling in the snow I tend to get nervous. However, I am excited because it has been around 4 years since I last saw any snow and believe me, I have missed seeing it due to how beautiful snow is.

The last time I remember either seeing snow or being out in the snow was when I was in university and I believe it was in 2013. The reason why this memory stands out so much was because I remember the fact that I had a lecture to get to and I remember that I ended up being about an hour late for it. However, my teacher for the lecture didn’t get upset with me at all because the class decided to not go ahead with it due to the fact that half the class could not make it as they got caught up in the snow as well. I think that day we had about 3 inches of snow because as typical British people, whenever it snows we tend to panic and the traffic tends to grind to a halt.

I decided that just in case I get snowed in that I would stock up on a few supplies because at the end of the day if the conditions get worse or the snow gets thick enough that I can not leave the house, then at least I would have enough supplies to get through. The only things I picked up was mainly soups and some microwavable meals because at the end of the day if I am not prepared and things get really bad, then I would regret not getting ready. At the end of the day, I am being quite the realist which I have only started being because I have a tendency to be really ambitious and stretch my expectations too much.

Overall, I am both excited to see the snow as I love the snow and it has been too long since it last snowed, but anxious because I might have to travel to work in it. If that is the case, it would be a 2 1/2- 3 hour walk to work and that will definitely tire me out.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

