26/09/2016 (Day 106: Thrift Shopping Success)

Today was the day that I decided to spend some of my birthday money and the best way I know to do that is go thrift shopping. When I do thrift shopping I keep an eye out for 2 specific things, which are DVDs that I don’t know and I have wanted for a little while and classic video games that aren’t PC games. The only time I buy PC games when I am thrift shopping is when I feel that the game I am buying is for a price much lower than I feel it is actually worth. I also do this for games that I already own as I can sell the duplicate off for potentially a small profit. So you could say that I am a mix of a collector and a buyer/seller when I feel that there is a profit to be made.

Today’s thrifting might be up there with the best haul I have ever had thrifting and it not because of how many games I got, but how many awesome titles I was able to pick up. The first major pickup of note was Legacy Of Kain: Blood Omen 2 for £3.50 or about $4.50. The reason why this pickup to me was amazing was because I already have Legacy Of Kain: Soul Reaver and I know that Blood Omen 2 is the sequel in the franchise and the first PS2 game in the series. The condition of the case, manual and disc is pretty much mint condition and after checking online prices, I got a really good deal on it.

The second major pickup I got and I was so chuffed that I got this game for the price I did was Final Fantasy X. I will say up front that I haven’t actually played a single Final Fantasy game before, but I have heard nothing but great things about FFX. I got the game for £3/$4 and the condition like Blood Omen II is fantastic. The version I got was the platinum edition as it was much cheaper than the standard version at the store, as the standard version was £10/$14, which is much more than I am willing to pay.

The final awesome pickup, which isn’t video game related is the first 3 seasons of The Big Bang Theory for £4.50/$6. I have watched some episodes of the Big Bang Theory and I initially didn’t like the show because I found it a but confusing. But now I have watched quite a few episodes from different series, I can now say the show is pretty awesome and appeals very well to my geeky side.

Overall, I am glad I decided to go thrift shopping today because all the pickups, including some that I didn’t mention was worth the time I spent searching through the 10+ charity shops. I am looking forward to doing some more thrifting sometime in the near future because I am hoping for the same luck I have had today.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

