30/08/2016 (Day 79: Hospital Radio Tech Issues)

So today I helped out with the Hospital Radio request show, which I am a host for every Tuesday night, apart from when I help edit the football commentary for home games. The main things I do are going around the wards to collect requests from the patients from 2 wards and the other thing I do is actually help with the presenting of the show. I have been volunteering here for nearly a year and I have enjoyed reacquainting myself with radio show production and what goes into a successful radio show.

Tonight’s show was a huge learning experience in how to deal with tech issues whilst my microphone was on. So what happened was my co-host had cued some music to be played after the introduction jingle, however when the jingle was selected it was playing, but there was no sound being broadcast to either the headphones or on the airwaves. So what I had to do was fill about 4 or 5 minutes of air whilst the tech issues were being resolved, which is something that I had never done before. It was a learning experience, so if there are any more issues like that happen in the future, I will know exactly what to do and what to say.

Overall apart from that, I haven’t had time to do anything else because I got home from work/hospital radio at around 9:45pm. I am hoping to finish the review for Saturday tomorrow, so that I work on building my backlog of reviews.

Have an awesome day everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

