28/08/2016 (Day 77: Sonic Podcast Catch Up)

So for the first time ever, I have been able to listen to the backlog of a podcast and finally be fully up to date with the podcast to the most recent release. The podcast that I have caught up on is Atari Jaguar Game By Game Podcast, which I recently started listening to. I really do enjoy listening to this podcast because the host Shinto goes into a huge amount of detail about each game and explaining how the game behave with every button input. I have learnt a huge amount about a game console that I have never had the chance to play before, but now I feel that I know everything about the console and have played it before without actually never played it. Shinto has a great episode structure, which is consistent and very detailed. I am really looking forward to future episodes of this podcast and I am hoping that I can continue to catch up on more podcasts in the coming weeks because I still have about 183 hours of podcasts to catch up on.

Also, today I found a version of Sonic the Hedgehog 2, which has the missing levels that were cut during the development of the game. Playing through these zones were quite interesting and I could see some correlations between these cut zones and zones there were featured in Sonic 3. For example, a cut zone from Sonic 2 was called Hidden Palace Zone, which was featured in Sonic 3 and was a bridge zone between Lava Reef Zone and Sky Sanctuary. Although, compared to Sonic 2, Hidden Palace Zone is extremely short and the cut zone in Sonic 2 has 2 acts and a unique boss fight. This zone was reintroduced to the official iOS version of Sonic 2, which can be accessed in Mystic Cave 2 and was the intended way to reach it in the Sonic 2 Beta version.

Overall, I am happy that I have been able to catch up with a podcast. All I have to do is catch up on another 183 hours of podcasts, with the next podcast I plan to catch up on being the Frame Savers. The Frame Savers is a podcast ran by Authorblues and Johncarls and is my favourite podcasts with the Atari Jaguar Game By Game Podcast being a close second. Also, playing Sonic 2 with the missing zones was an interesting experience and I might play it on stream.

Have an awesome day and I will see you all tomorrow.

Liam

Leave a Reply

